American Institute Of Architects

By Lynda Millner   |   December 27, 2018
Carl Palmer with Lily and Carrie Kappel. Carl founded the Bucket Brigade and won the Lutah Maria Riggs Award.

Each year, the American Institute of Architects (AIA) holds a design awards holiday gala. This year we gathered in the cozy atmosphere of the University Club for cocktails, dinner, and awards. Robert Ooley FAIA (Fellow) will be president of AIA for the next year. He told us, “Our chapter turns ninety this year and is the second oldest in California.”

They had over 50 submissions from 18 different licensed architects in the Santa Barbara area as well as architects outside Santa Barbara who did projects in our County. This year’s categories were: commercial buildings and interiors, new single family residential, multi-family residential historic preservation/renovation, Santa Barbara architectural heritage, small projects: residential additions and remodels, and interior architecture and design: residential kitchens, baths, interiors.

This year AIA gave the Lutah Maria Riggs Presidents Award for outstanding community service because of the fire and flood. They selected Carl Palmer whose leadership, compassion, and dedication contributed significantly to community healing and recovery. He started the Bucket Brigade, which enlisted 3,000 people to dig out 80 homes. Lutah was a well-known architect and George Washington Smith’s partner who took over his practice after he died. They are both buried at the altar in the chapel of the Santa Barbara Cemetery.

A snow scene at the University Club taken during the AIA holiday party
The new AIA president Robert Ooley with Rodney Baker
Shaida and Andrew Stuffler with AIA executive director Tara Rizzi

The AIA award jurors were Milford Wayne Donald, FAIA of Sacramento; Doug Ewing FAIA of Pasadena; and Takashi Yanai, FAIA of Los Angeles. AIA always have out of town judges so they will be no discrimination.

This was the first year for students at SBCC to submit architectural designs. Honored were Patricia Strong, David Cornejo, and Christa Coski. Other winners were: Anacapa Architecture (four awards), DesignArc, Shubin Donaldson (three awards), SOM, NMA Architects (two awards), Harrison Design, PMSM, KABZ Architects, and AB Design Studios.

The AIA was founded in 1857 and consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. There are nearly 300 state and local chapters.

Submissions of the 2018 Design Awards will be exhibited at Faulkner Gallery during February and March 2019. A First Thursday reception will be held on February 7, 2019.


You might also be interested in...