Here’s Hope

By Richard Mineards   |   May 7, 2024
Kim Hernandez, Susan Salcido, Hilda Maldonado, Wendy Sims- Moten, and Denise Alvarado (photo by Priscilla)

The Santa Barbara Education Foundation held its annual Hope Awards at the Santa Barbara Historical Museum honoring local heroes of public education with 160 guests raising more than $50,000 with a paddle raise benefitting the Teacher Grants program, which has given 387 grants since 2018 with more than $685,000 invested in classrooms.

The two recipients were the ubiquitous Geoff Green, former head of the City College Foundation, and the local radio station 99.9 KTYD represented by Bill Pesso and Lin Aubuchon, in recognition of its dedication to music education in local schools, particularly the Keep the Beat program.

David Edelman, former foundation board member, and Susan Salcido, Santa Barbara County Superintendent of Schools, introduced the award winners.

Tony Ybarra and the Santa Barbara High Folklorico entertained with Kelly Fresch, the ceremony’s chair, welcoming the tony throng with Hilda Maldonado, superintendent of the Santa Barbara Unified School District, and Pedro Paz, executive director of the foundation, adding their remarks.

Among the guests packing the museum’s courtyard, with dinner provided by the culinary programs of various high schools, were David Selberg, Caitlin O’Hara, Nina Dunbar, Frank Schipper, Ingrid Bostrom, Dean Noble, Rebecca Anderson, Darla Bea, and Ed Zuchelli.


You might also be interested in...